Dodgers’ Julio Urías, Dave Roberts among BBWAA award finalists

Julio Urías and Dave Roberts will be the Dodgers’ interested parties when the Baseball Writers’ Association of America award winners are revealed next week.

Urías finished among the top three vote-getters for the National League Cy Young Award. So did Miami Marlins right-hander Sandy Alcantara and Atlanta Braves left-hander Max Fried, a Harvard-Westlake product. The winner will be announced on Nov. 16 (MLB Network, 3 p.m. PT).

Roberts finished among the top three vote-getters for the NL Manager of the Year Award, along with New York Mets manager Buck Showalter and Braves manager Brian Snitker.

Urías, 26, went 17-7 with an NL-best 2.16 ERA. He pitched 175 innings across 31 starts and led the Dodgers’ staff with 166 strikeouts.

Urías finished seventh in Cy Young Award voting last year, when he went 20-3 with a 2.96 ERA. It was the first time he collected a Cy Young vote since his 2016 debut.

Alcantara, 27, went 14-9 with a 2.28 ERA. He led baseball in innings pitched (228-2/3) and complete games (six), and was the only pitcher in either league to log 200 innings and strike out 200 batters.

Fried, 28, went 14-7 with a 2.48 ERA in 30 starts for Atlanta. He threw 185-1/3 innings and struck out 170 batters.

Roberts won the NL Manager of the Year Award in 2016, his first year with the Dodgers, and has finished no worse than sixth in every season since. The Dodgers won a franchise-record 111 regular-season games, surpassing the 106 they won in 2019 and 2021 under Roberts.

Related Articles

Los Angeles Dodgers |

Angels’ Shohei Ohtani loses to Aaron Judge in 2 votes among his peers

Los Angeles Dodgers |

Hoornstra: Roz Wyman oversaw Dodgers’ complicated origin story in Los Angeles

Los Angeles Dodgers |

Dodgers’ Mookie Betts wins 6th Gold Glove Award

Los Angeles Dodgers |

Dodgers’ Justin Turner wins MLB’s 2022 Roberto Clemente Award

Los Angeles Dodgers |

Max Muncy, Trea Turner latest Dodgers to thank fans on social media

Roberts’ .618 regular-season winning percentage is the highest ever by a major league manager outside the Negro Leagues.

The manager of the year winner will be announced on Nov. 15 (MLB Network, 3 p.m. PT).

Dodgers first baseman Freddie Freeman led the NL in hits (199), doubles (47), runs (117) and on-base percentage (.407), but he did not finish among the top three NL MVP vote-getters (St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado and San Diego Padres third baseman Manny Machado). Freeman batted .325 with 21 homers and 100 RBIs in his first season as a Dodger.

Share the Post:

Related Posts