Here are the 20 House GOP members who voted against McCarthy

By Annie Grayer, Clare Foran, Kristin Wilson, Jessica Dean and Sonnet Swire | CNN

Republican leader Kevin McCarthy suffered a third rebuke for speaker before the House adjourned Tuesday evening.

Twenty Republicans voted against him — an increase from the 19 defections in the first two rounds of balloting. McCarthy, who needed 218 votes, had failed to secure the speaker’s gavel by the third round, earning 202 votes in the final tally.

All 20 voted for Rep. Jim Jordan of Ohio, who himself voted for McCarthy. Rep. Byron Donalds of Florida, who had initially voted for McCarthy in the first two rounds, shifted his support to Jordan.

Leaving the floor Tuesday, Jordan told CNN there is “no” chance he will become speaker, adding he wants to be House Judiciary chairman. He said he would lobby his colleagues to back McCarthy once the chamber resumes Wednesday.

Here are the lawmakers who voted against McCarthy on the third ballot:

Rep. Andy Biggs
Rep. Dan Bishop
Rep. Lauren Boebert
Rep. Josh Brecheen
Rep. Michael Cloud
Rep. Andrew Clyde
Rep. Eli Crane
Rep. Matt Gaetz
Rep. Bob Good
Rep. Paul Gosar
Rep. Andy Harris
Rep. Anna Paulina Luna
Rep. Mary Miller
Rep. Ralph Norman
Rep. Andy Ogles
Rep. Scott Perry
Rep. Matt Rosendale
Rep. Chip Roy
Rep. Keith Self
Rep. Byron Donalds

Share the Post:

Related Posts